Author / vinz

What’s happening at Thunar?

| 15. December 2017 | Comments Off on What’s happening at Thunar?

In the last few weeks there have been a number of updates and releases of development versions at Xfce. Some of them are core components, others are programmes from the immediate vicinity. Below is a small overview with the highlights around the file manager Thunar: Thunar The default file manager Thunar got two updates from […]

Weiterlesen

The whiskermenu is great in itself, but unfortunately only accessible by mouse click or with Alt+F1. With a small program from Hans Chen a common behavior can be easily recreated: ksuperkey redirects the signal triggered by the superkey in such a way that the whiskermenu opens. In principle, the Xfce can also be from house, […]

Weiterlesen

MX Linux 17: the third beta version clicked through

| 29. November 2017 | Comments Off on MX Linux 17: the third beta version clicked through

MX, AntiX, Mepis, Debian – the source of MX Linux goes back to 2007, the distribution is a cooperation of Mepis and AntiX developers and uses Xfce as the default desktop. Thanks to the 32bit version and a PAE kernel, it is suitable for use on older hardware. For more details about MX and its […]

Weiterlesen

Multimedia keys and MPRIS2

| 28. November 2017 | Comments Off on Multimedia keys and MPRIS2

I had already reported about the new multimedia control in the Pulseaudio plugin. In the meantime, there was a small bugfix release (0.3.2) which does not require a major mention. But with the release of version 0.3.3, the range of functions has been extended by something important – or at least something very popular: music […]

Weiterlesen

Interview with Xfce developer Sean Davis

| 13. November 2017 | Comments Off on Interview with Xfce developer Sean Davis

In episode 45 of Destination Linux Xubuntu Technical Lead and Xfce Core Developer Sean Davis is a guest and talks about his work on the two projects plus what else he does. These include various core applications, but also the Catfish search, Parole Media Player or LightDM. Just under an hour worthwhile!

Weiterlesen

Xfce at Mr. Robot – twice!

| 9. November 2017 | Comments Off on Xfce at Mr. Robot – twice!

[:en]Whoever watched the episodes 2 and 3 of the current third season of “Mr. Robot” carefully could see that both Tyrell and Darlene use Xfce. Wiht Tyrell you can also see Firefox and the Torrent client Deluge. Whereas Darlene obviously uses Slackware – and fundamentally wrong: as root in graphical mode!

Weiterlesen

Victory Theme: 5 variants and icons in a creamy look

| 15. October 2017 | Comments Off on Victory Theme: 5 variants and icons in a creamy look

For a soft, almost creamy look on the Xfce desktop, the Theme “Victory” by newhoa is the ideal choice. It consists of 5 variants in different brightness levels for windows and window frames, as well as an extensive icon set. Installation is very simple: As a regular user, you clone the corresponding git repository and […]

Weiterlesen

Work in progress: openSUSE Xfce live ISOs

| 9. October 2017 | Comments Off on Work in progress: openSUSE Xfce live ISOs

On the openSUSE rolling branch Tumbleweed mailing list there is a pleasing sign of life regarding Xfce. Up to now, only Gnome and KDE were available as a live image, which meant for Xfce users the detour via network or DVD installation. Now Stefan Seyfried has announced to create live images from the OBS repository […]

Weiterlesen

Pulseaudio plugin with music control

| 2. October 2017 | Comments Off on Pulseaudio plugin with music control

Most people probably know the Pulseaudio plugin in the Xfce panel. Previously, its functionality was limited to volume control and mute, both of which could be done using keyboard shortcuts or the mouse. Now Xubuntu Technical Lead and Xfce developer Sean Davis has added a lot of new features to the plugin with version 0.3.0 […]

Weiterlesen

Three Ways to Xfce with openSUSE Leap 42.3

| 5. August 2017 | Comments Off on Three Ways to Xfce with openSUSE Leap 42.3

Recently the new stable openSUSE version “Leap 42.3” was released with a lot of improvements and improvements. More information can be found in Article about the release. Further news from the development area can be found in the corresponding category. At this point you will learn how to use openSUSE Leap 42.3 with Xfce. There […]

Weiterlesen

Autor / vinz

Was tut sich bei Thunar?

| 15. Dezember 2017 | Kommentare deaktiviert für Was tut sich bei Thunar?

In den letzten Wochen gab es eine ganze Reihe an Updates und Veröffentlichungen von Entwicklungsversionen bei Xfce. Teils sind es Kernkomponenten, teils Programme aus dem direkten Umfeld. Nachfolgend eine kleine Übersicht mit den Highlights rund um den Dateimanager Thunar: Thunar Der Standard-Dateimanager Thunar bekam gleich zwei Updates von Entwickler Andre Miranda spendiert. Einmal für den […]

Weiterlesen

Xfce und die Supertaste

| 10. Dezember 2017 | Kommentare deaktiviert für Xfce und die Supertaste

Das Whiskermenü ist an sich schon toll, aber leider von Haus aus nur über einen Mausklick oder mit Alt+F1 erreichbar. Mit einem kleinen Programm von Hans Chen lässt sich ein gängiges Verhalten recht einfach nachbauen: ksuperkey leitet kurz gesagt das durch die Supertaste ausgelöste Signal so um, dass sich das Whiskermenü öffnet. Prinzipiell kann das […]

Weiterlesen

MX Linux 17: die dritte Betaversion durchgeklickt

| 29. November 2017 | Kommentare deaktiviert für MX Linux 17: die dritte Betaversion durchgeklickt

MX, AntiX, Mepis, Debian – so in etwa geht der Ursprung von MX Linux zurück bis 2007. Die Distribution ist eine Kooperation von Mepis- und AntiX-Entwicklern und verwendet Xfce als Standard-Desktop. Dank 32bit-Version und PAE-Kernel bietet sich der Einsatz auf älterer Hardware an. Für mehr Details zu MX uns seiner Entstehungsgeschichte lohnt sich ein Blick […]

Weiterlesen

Über die neue Multimediasteuerung im Pulseaudio-Plugin hatte ich ja schon berichtet. Inzwischen gab es einen kleinen Bugfix-Release (0.3.2), der keine größeren Erwähnung bedarf. Aber mit der jetzt erschienenen Version 0.3.3 wurde der Funktionsumfang nochmal um etwas Wichtiges erweitert – oder zumindest etwas sehr Beliebtes: Musiksteuerung mit Multimediakeys! Wie auch beim der Steuerung im Symbolbereich läuft […]

Weiterlesen

Xfce-Entwickler Sean Davis im Interview

| 13. November 2017 | Kommentare deaktiviert für Xfce-Entwickler Sean Davis im Interview

In Folge 45 von Destination Linux ist Xubuntu Technical Lead und Xfce Core Developer Sean Davis zu Gast und erzählt über seine Arbeit an den beiden Projekten plus was er sonst noch so macht. Dazu zählen diverse Kernanwendungen, aber auch die Catfish Suche, Parole Media Player oder LightDM. Ein knappe Stunde, die sich lohnt!

Weiterlesen

Xfce bei Mr. Robot – gleich zwei mal!

| 9. November 2017 | Kommentare deaktiviert für Xfce bei Mr. Robot – gleich zwei mal!

Wer bei den Folgen 2 und 3 der aktuellen dritten Staffel von „Mr. Robot“ aufgepasst hat, konnte sehen dass sowohl Tyrell als auch Darlene Xfce benutzen. Bei Tyrell sieht man darüber hinaus noch Firefox und den Torrentclient Deluge. Wohingegen Darlene offensichtlich Slackware benutzt – und das grundlegend falsch: als Root im grafischen Modus!

Weiterlesen

Für einen soften, fast schon cremigen Look auf dem Xfce Desktop bietet sich das Theme „Victory“ von newhoa an. Es besteht aus 5 Varianten in verschiedenen Helligkeiten für Fenster und Fensterrahmen, sowie einen umfangreichen Iconset. Die Installation ist denkbar einfach: Als regulärer User klonst du das entsprechende Git-Repository und legst die Daten in deinem Benutzerverzeichnis […]

Weiterlesen

Auf der Mailingliste des openSUSE Rollingzweigs Tumbleweed gibt es ein erfreuliches Lebenszeichen bezüglich Xfce. Bisher gab es nur Gnome und KDE als Live-Image, was für Xfce-Anwender den Umweg über die Netz- bzw. DVD-Installation bedeutete. Nun hat Stefan Seyfried angekündigt aus dem von ihm (mit-)gepflegten OBS Repository Live-Images erstellen zu wollen. Ein weiteres Ziel ist es […]

Weiterlesen

Bildbetrachter für Linux gibt es viele, Xfce bringt beispielsweise mit Ristretto einen passenden und leistungsfähigen mit. Manchmal lohnt sich aber ein Blick über den Tellerrand hinaus. 1. Feh Feh gibt es seit fast 20 Jahren und eignet sich hervorragend für ältere, langsame Hardware. Es ist schlank, schnörkellos und tut was es soll. Du bedienst Feh […]

Weiterlesen

Das Pulseaudio Plugin im Xfce Panel kennen wahrscheinlich die meisten. Bisher beschränkte sich seine Funktionalität auf Lautstärkeregulung und Stummschaltung, beides über Tastenkürzel oder mit der Maus machbar. Nun hat Xubuntu Technical Lead und Xfce Entwickler Sean Davis dem Plugin mit Version 0.3.0 und 0.3.1 eine ganze Reihe neuer Features spendiert: Unterstützung für das XF86AudioMicMute Tastenkürzel […]

Weiterlesen